Employability Research

The ACCESS Research Pillar aims to bring scrutiny to bear on an issue of enormous importance, not only for Africa, but for the globe. Namely, that of graduate unemployability. With over 60% of Africa´s population under the age of 25, and African labor markets seemingly unable to absorb this massive demographic bulge, the questions of employability skills, needs of labor markets, and the role of universities have never been more urgent. Given the sheer size and scope of these issues, the ACCESS research pillar takes a multidisciplinary approach to tackling these enormous questions.

Partnering with 7 universities from all over Africa, and with a research pillar comprising academics from business, IT, geography, anthropology, history and more, the ACCESS team brings together cutting edge researchers and academics from all over the globe.

12 PhD candidates from our partner universities in Africa will join our team in Leipzig, and be able to take part in the research academy of Leipzig´s classes and course offerings. Their research focuses on a wide variety of topics, ranging from employability and community expectations of universities, to gender mainstreaming.

In addition to our doctoral program, the ACCESS research pillar is conducting ongoing research investigations into informal sector labor across Africa, creating an employability handbook, and working on creating an online employability assessment tool. With a dedicated and focused team intent on delivering quality research output, the research pillar is a critical component of the ACCESS project.

Employability Research

Der ACCESS Research Pillar ziehlt darauf ab ein Thema von enormer Bedeutung zu beleuchten, nicht nur für Afrika, sondern für die gesamte Welt. Namentlich, die Arbeitslosigkeit von Hochschulabsolventen. Über 60% der afrikanischen Bevölkerung ist jünger als 25, gleichzeitig sieht sich der afrikanische Arbeitsmarkt nicht in der Lage diese Menge an potenziellen Arbeitskräften aufzufangen, die Frage nach den notwendigen Arbeitnehmerfertigkeiten, den Anforderungen des Arbeitsmarkts und die Rolle der Universitäten war nie drängender. Gemessen an der schieren Größe dieses Problems folgt der ACCESS Research Pillar einem multidisziplinären Ansatz, um die umfangreichen Fragen anzugehen.

In Partnerschaft mit 7 Universitäten aus Afrika und der Verknüpfung von Wissenschaften, Ökonomie, IT, Geographie, Anthropologie, Geschichte und weiteren Wissensgebieten, bringt das ACCESS Projekt ein Team von innovativen Wissenschaftlern aus aller Welt zusammen.

12 Doktoranden von unseren afrikanischen Partneruniversitäten werden unser Team in Leipzig verstärken und an Angeboten und Lehrveranstaltung der Research Academy in Leipzig teilnehmen können. The Forschungsschwerpunkte denken eine Vielzahl von Inhalten ab, angefangen bei Beschäftigungsfähigkeit über gesellschaftliche Erwartungen an Universitäten bis hin zu Gleichstellungen.

In Ergänzung zu dem Doktorrandenprogramm führt das ACCESS Research Pillar eigene Forschung im Bereich des afrikanischen Arbeitsmarktes durch. Innerhalb dieser werden Handbücher zum Thema Beschäftigung erstellt und ein online Employability Assessment Tool entwickelt. Mit eine engagierten und passionierten Team, sowie dem Anspruch an erstklassige Forschung ist das Research Pillar eine wichtige Komponente innerhalb des ACCESS Projekts.